Jazz Icons 4: Art Blakey - Live in '65

Jazz Icons 4: Art Blakey - Live in '65

Regular price £13.61 Sale

Jazz Icons: Art Blakey boasts an exceptional one-hour concert by Art Blakey from Paris in 1965. This performance showcases one of the few undocumented Blakey bands, the New Jazzmen, featuring the incomparable Freddie Hubbard on trumpet, as well as Jaki Byard on piano, Reggie Workman on bass, Nathan Davis on sax and, of course, Art Blakey on drums?”truly a powerhouse quintet!

Freddie Hubbard?™s incendiary playing on ?œBlue Moon??and the blistering 24-minute version of his own ?œCrisis,??serves as a cogent reminder that he was one of the most innovative trumpeters in jazz history.

"Live in France - 1965"

Drums- Art Blakey
Trumpet- Freddie Hubbard
Sax- Nathan Davis
Piano- Jaki Byard
Bass- Reggie Workman


The Hub
Blue Moon
NY Theme


DVD, 20-page booklet, 60 minutes